Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Subject Guides

Māori and Indigenous Studies: Research - Rangahau

This Library and Study Guide is to assist students who are studying Māori at the University of Canterbury and College of Education.

Māori Research

Māori Research Methodology

Tolich, M. & Davidson, C.
Social science research in New Zealand: an introduction
Auckland: Auckland University Press, 2018.

Hoskins, Te Kawehau & Jones, Alison (Eds).
Critical conversations in kaupapa Māori
New Zealand: Huia Publishers, 2017.

MacFarland, A. & Matthews, N.
He kete whakawaitara: he whakatara ā  rangahau.
Te Whanganui-ā-Tara : NZCER Press, 2017.

Hutchings, J. & Lee-Morgan, J.
Decolonisation in Aotearoa: education, research and practice.
Wellington: NZCER Press, 2016.

Reinhart, R.E.
Ethnographies in Pan Pacific research: tensions and positionings
New York: Routledge, 2015.

Black, T., Murphy, H., Buchanan, C., Nuku, W. & Ngaia, B.
Enhancing mātauranga Māori and global indigenous knowledge.
Wellington, NZQA, 2014.

Smith, Linda Tuhiwai
Decolonizing methodologies : research and indigenous peoples (2nd ed.).
London: Zed Books, 2012.

Pihama, Leonie & Daniels, Ngarimu
Tikanga rangahau [DVD].
Auckland: Māori and Indigenous Analysis, 2007.

Powick, Kiri
Māori research ethics 
Hamilton [N.Z.] : Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research, 2003

Cleave, Peter.
Research in a small world of light and shade = Rangahau pae iti kahurangi
Palmerston North, N.Z. : Campus Press, 1997.

Bishop, Russell
Collaborative research stories : whakawhanaungatanga
Palmerston North, N.Z. : Dunmore Press, 1996.

Irwin, Kathie.
Māori research methodology
[Christchurch, M.Z. : Maori Studies Dept., University of Canterbury, 1995].

Tucker, Jane.
Maori claims : how to research and write a report
Wellington, N.Z.: Waitangi Tribunal Division, Dept. of Justice, 1994.

The issue of research and Maori
[Auckland. N.Z.] : The Unit, [1992]

Teariki, Christine.
The politics and process of research for Maori = Te whakapakari te mana tangata
[Palmerston North, N.Z.] : The Dept., 1992.

Te Awekotuku, Ngahuia.
He tikanga whakaaro : research ethics in the Maori community
Wellington: Ministry of Maori Affairs, 1991

Stokes, Evelyn.
Maori research and development : a discussion paper
Wellington, N.Z. : The Council, 1985.

 

Bibliographies and indexes

Taylor, C. R. H.
A bibliography of publications on the New Zealand Maori and the Moriori of the Chatham Islands
Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1972.

Harlow, Ray.
A name & word index to Nga moteatea
Dunedin, N.Z. : University of Otago Press, 1986.

Chrisp, Tipene.
Annotated bibliography of Māori language sources in the Alexander Turnbull Library with regard to claims in the Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka-a-Māui Region
[Wellington, N.Z. : Waitangi Tribunal, 1999]

Parkinson, P. G.
Books in Māori, 1815-1900
Auckland, N.Z. : Reed Pub., 2004.

New Zealand. Quest Rapuara.
He Waka eke noa : Maori information resources
Wellington [N.Z.] : Quest Rapuara, 1991.

Fletcher, H. J.
Index of Maori names.
[Wellington : Government Printer, 1982]

McRae, Jane.
Ngā iwi o te Tai Tokerau
Whangarei (N.Z.) : Tari Māori 1981.

Fildes, H. E. M.
Selective indexes to certain books relating to early New Zealand
Wellington [N.Z.] : Victoria University of Wellington Library, 1984.

Mutch, Kevin.
Summary and index of Royal and other commissions concerning Maori land claims, 1856-1975
[Wellington, N.Z : Treaty Division, Dept. of Justice, 1990]

White, John
The ancient history of the Maori : his mythology and traditions : horo-uta or taki-tumu migration
Wellington : Govt. Printer, 1887-1891.

Shoebridge, Tim
Waitangi Tribunal bibliography, 1975-2005 : Tribunal reports, research reports and other publications
Wellington, N.Z. : Waitangi Tribunal, 2006.

Primary Resource Collections

Grey, George, Sir
Auckland Public Library : Grey Collection : Maori manuscripts.
[1826-1897]

Shortland, Edward
Edward Shortland 1812-1893 : [papers].
[Dunedin] : Hocken Library, University of Otago, 1994.

Taylor, Richard
Grey New Zealand manuscripts : Taylor collection, GNZMSS 297.
1820-1884.

Stokes, Evelyn.
Maori manuscripts in the papers of Alfred Nesbit Brown, missionary at Tauranga
Hamilton, N.Z. : University of Waikato, 1984.

Royal, Te Ahukaramu Charles
Nga Kupu korero : the people of the Treaty speak :
[Wellington, N.Z.] : Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, [1991]

Curnow, Jenifer.
Ngā taonga o te Tai Tokerau
Auckland [N.Z.] : James Henare Māori Research Centre, University of Auckland, 1998.

National Archives of New Zealand.
Raupatu Document Bank.
[Wellington, N.Z : Waitangi Tribunal, 1989-1990]

 

Kai-takawaenga Māori

Profile Photo
Jemma Wiki