Cook Islands

• Crocombe, R. G., & Holmes, R. (2014). Southern Cook Islands customary law, history and society l Akapapaʻanga, kōrero tupuna, e te ākonoʻanga ture ʻenua o te Pā ʻenua Tonga o te Kūki ʻAirani. Cook Islands Library and Museum Society.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection KT 5589.1 .Z7 .C938 2914
• Crocombe, R. G., & Crocombe, M. T. (Eds.). (2003). Akono'anga Maori l Cook Islands culture. Institute of Pacific Studies in association with the Cook Islands Extension Centre, University of the South Pacific; the Cook Islands Cultural and Historic Places Trust, and the Ministry of Cultural Development.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection GN 671 .C7 .A315 2003

• Siikala, A., & Siikala, J. (2005). Return to culture: Oral tradition and society in the Southern Cook Islands. Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection GN 671 .C7 .S579 2005

Solomon Islands

Lending copies in the Macmillan Brown Library

• Kwa'ioloa, M., & Burt, B. (2012). The chiefs' country: Leadership and politics in Honiara, Solomon Islands. UQ ePress.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection  DU 850 .K93 .K98 2012
• Bennett, J. A. (1987). Wealth of the Solomons: A history of a Pacific archipelago, 1800-1978. University of Hawaii Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 850 .B471

Library-use only copy in the Macmillan Brown Library

• Liligeto, W. G. (2006). Babata: Our land, our tribe, our people : a historical account and cultural materials of Butubutu Babata, Marovo. Institute of Pacific Studies, University of the South Pacific.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 850 .L728 2006

Tonga

Lending copies in the Macmillan Brown Library

• Lee, H. M. (2003). Tongans overseas: Between two shores. University of Hawaii Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 880 .L478 2003
• Steen, T. M., & Drescher, N. L. (2011). Tonga: Land, sea and people. Tonga Research Association.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 880 .T6648 2011
• Wood-Ellem, E. (Ed.). (2007). Tonga and the Tongans: Heritage and identity. Tonga Research Association.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 880 .T6643 2007

Available online:

• Besnier, N. (2011). On the edge of the global: Modern anxieties in a Pacific island nation. Stanford University Press.
• Fua, S., Tuita, T., Kanongata’a, S. & Fuko, K. (2011). Cultural mapping, planning and policy: Tonga. Secretariat of the Pacific Community, Ministry of Education on behalf of Women’s Affairs and Culture, Government of Tonga.

West Papua

• Chauvel, R. (2005). Constructing Papuan nationalism: History, ethnicity, and adaption. East-West Center.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 744.5 .C511c 2005

• Elmslie, J. (2002). Irian Jaya under the gun: Indonesian economic development versus west Papuan nationalism. Crawford House Publishing.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 744.5 .E48 2002
• Hisada, T. (2008). Indigenous development and self-determination in West Papua: A case study of the socio-political and economic impacts of mining upon the Amungme and Kamoro communities of West Papua. VDM Verlag, Dr. Mü̈ller
  ​​​​​​​Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 744 .H673 2008
• Leadbeater, M. (2018). See no evil: New Zealand's betrayal of the people of West Papua. Otago University Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 744.5 .L434 2018
• Pouwer, J. (2010). Gender, ritual and social formation in West Papua: A configurational analysis comparing Kamoro and Asmat. KITLV Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 744.35 .M55 .P879 201

Web resources:

• The Papuan Archive documents human rights violations from 2009 to 2019.
• Papua Storyteller  is a cultural struggle where Papuan telling story from their eyes. Created by Wensislaus Fatubun, an Papuan fillmaker, human rights defender and anthropologist.
• Papuan Voices

• Fatuban, W. (2023). Papuan voices: An initiative for decolonized filmmaking to document indigenous people's lived experiences in West Papua. Video Journal of Education and Psychology. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1163/23644583-bja10044 
• Stasch, R. (2009). Society of others: Kinship and mourning in a West Papuan place. University of California Press.

Books:

• Anae, M., Iuli, L., & Tamu, L. (2015).  Polynesian Panthers: Pacific protest and affirmative action in Aotearoa New Zealand 1971-1981. Huia.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection JQ 5881 .P783  2015  
• Anae, M., Iuli, L., & Burgoyne, L. (2006). Polynesian Panthers: The crucible years 1971-74. Reed.
  Central Library, Level 8   JQ 5881 .P783 
• Anae, M. (2020). The platform: The radical legacy of the Polynesian Panthers. Bridget Williams Books. 
  Available online (click link above or at Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection JQ 5881 .A532 2020
• Anae, M. (2012). All power to the people: Overstayers, Dawn Raids and the Polynesian Panthers. In S. Mallon, K. Māhina-Tuai, & D. Salesa, D. (Eds). Tangata o le Moana: New Zealand and the people of the Pacific (pp. 221-240). Te Papa Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection  DU 413 .P15 .T164 2012 & Central Library, Level 4, Classroom Resources 305.8995 TAN

 

Resources on the web:

• Anae, L. M. (n.d.). Samoans: Dawn Raids apology. In Te ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand. Manatū Taonga–Ministry for Culture and Heritage. Retrieved March 27, 2024, from https://teara.govt.nz/en/video/47752/dawn-raids-apology
• Douglas, E., Kopee-TE Aho, H., Mackenzie, N., Taiia T. S., Ness, T. & McBride, C. (n.d.). Wakaako kia whakaora: Educate to liberate http://panthers.liberationlibrary.nz/
• Tikilounge Productions. (2021, May 18). Untold Pacific History: Waking up to the Dawn Raids [Audio podcast]. Radio New Zealand. https://www.rnz.co.nz/programmes/untold-pacific-history/story/2018792307/episode-1-waking-up-to-the-dawn-raids-aotearoa-untold-pacific-history 
• Tualamali’i, J., & Timu, B. (2021, May 3). Petition of Josiah Tualamali’i and Benji Timu: Apologise for the ‘dawn raids’ and enable education in Aotearoa about them. New Zealand Parliament–Pāremata Aotearoa. https://petitions.parliament.nz/3683309b-cddf-4fb0-b856-abf562e931a1

There's loads more online and in the library- ask us if you need information on any particular aspect.

• Irwin, G. (2006). Voyaging and settlement. In K. R. Howe (Ed.). Vaka moana: Voyages of the ancestors (pp.54-99). David Bateman
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection DU 510 .V134 2006
• Flexner, J. L. (2021). Oceania, 8000-1800CE: A millennium of interactions in a sea of islands. Cambridge University Press.
• Salesa, D. (2023). An indigenous ocean: Pacific essays.  chapter 1: The Pacific in indigenous time. https://nzhistorycollection-bwb-co-nz.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/collection-books/9781991033611

• Durham, J., Tafa, S., Etuale, J., Nosa, V., Fa'avale, A., Malama, E., Yaranamua, M., Taito, T., Ziesman, C., & Fa'avale, N. (2023). Belonging in multiple places: Pasifika young peoples' experiences of living in Logan. Journal of Youth Studies, 26(2), 196-212. https://doi.org/10.1080/13676261.2021.1994130
• Mila-Schaaf, K. (2011). Polycultural capital and the Pasifika second generation: negotiating identities. Integration of Immigrants Programme.
• Salesa, D. (2017). Island time: New Zealand's Pacific futures. Bridget Williams Books.
• Tupuola, A. (2004). Pasifika edgewalkers: Complicating the achieved identity status in youth research. Journal of Intercultural Studies, 25(1), 87-100. https://doi.org/10.1080/07256860410001687045

• Fairburn-Dunlop, T.  P. ( 2010).  Pacific  youth  connecting  through  ‘Poly’. In C. Ward, J., Liu, T. P. Fairburn-Dunlop, & A. K. Henderson (Eds.).  Youth voices, youth choices: Identity, integration and social cohesion in culturally diverse Aotearoa/New Zealand (pp. 20-29). Foundation for Research, Science and Technology.

• Giles, M., Giles, H., & Bernhold, Q. (2019). Cultural Festivals as Intergroup Settings: A Case Study of Pacific Islander Identification. Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development, 40(9), 818–832. https://doi.org/10.1080/01434632.2019.1569666

• Mackley-Crump, J. (2012). The Festivalisation of Pacific Cultures in New Zealand: Diasporic Flow and Identity within ‘a Sea of Islands’.  [Doctoral Thesis, University of Otago]. OurArchive. https://ourarchive.otago.ac.nz/handle/10523/2160

This is a thesis so it’s a bit long but you can just go to the sections that interest you (or read the following article).

• Mackley-Crump, J. (2016). From Private Performance to the Public Stage: Reconsidering ‘Staged Authenticity’ and ‘Traditional’ Performances at the Pasifika Festival. Anthropological Forum, 26(2), 155–176. https://doi.org/10.1080/00664677.2016.1155972

• Williams, M. L. (2022). The ASB Polyfest: The Construction of Transnational Pacific Cultural Spaces in Auckland, Aotearoa New Zealand. Pacific Arts, 22(1), 156–188. https://www.jstor.org/stable/48662955

Historic

• Banivanua-Mar, T. (2007). Violence and colonial dialogue: The Australian Pacific indentured labor trade.  University of Hawai’i Press.
• Maude, H. E. (1981). Slavers in paradise: The Peruvian slave trade in Polynesia, 1862-1864. Stanford University Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection HT 1147 .M447 (also Central Library)
• Meleisea, M. (1976). The last days of the Melanesian labour trade in Western Samoa. The Journal of Pacific History, 11(2), 126-132. https://www.jstor.org/stable/25168257
• Speedy, K. (2015). The Sutton case: The first Franco-Australian foray into blackbirding. Journal of Pacific History, 50(3), 344–364. https://doi.org/10.1080/00223344.2015.1073868
• Stead, V. & Altman, J. (Eds.). (2019). Labour lines and colonial power: Indigenous and pacific islander labour mobility in Australia. ANU Press.
  Macmillan Brown Library Pacific Collection. Not for loan. HD 8848.5 .A2 .L33 2019
• Summy, H. (2009). Fiji’s forgotten people: The legatees of “blackbirding. Social Alternatives, 28(4), 39–44.

 

Online/Film

• State Library of Queensland. (n.d.) Plantation voices. https://www.slq.qld.gov.au/discover/exhibitions/plantation-voices
• Fuimaono-Sapolu, E. (2014). Pacific history: they don't teach at school.
  Macmillan Brown Library DVD   DU 28.3 .P117 2014
• Loughlin, L. & Strickland, O. (n.d.) Sons of Blackbird https://www.thecoconet.tv/moana-arts/pacific-short-films/sons-of-blackbird-someday-stories-short-film/

 

Current Labour Conditions

Recognised Seasonal Employer Scheme (in horticulture and viticulture industries)

• The Conversation https://theconversation.com/nz-wants-more-seasonal-workers-but-pacific-nations-no-longer-want-to-be-the-outposts-that-grow-them-217790`
• Human Rights Commission https://tikatangata.org.nz/our-work/the-rse-scheme-in-aotearoa-new-zealand-a-human-rights-review "we consider are gaps in the scheme, which may enable systemic pattern of human rights abuses throughout the country"
• Immigration NZ https://www.immigration.govt.nz/about-us/research-and-statistics/research-reports/recognised-seasonal-employer-rse-scheme
• Horticulture NZhttps://www.hortnz.co.nz/people-jobs-and-labour/rse-scheme/

 

Google John Vea (artist and UC academic) for his work on Pasifika workers in Aotearoa.