Skip to Main Content

Library Subject Guides

Pacific and Pasifika: Psychology

This is a brief introduction to Pacific resources on Psychology. For more general psychology resources, see the Psychology Subject Guide and contact Margaret for help with searching Psychology databases.

Fa'afeso'ota'i mai - Contact us

Pacific Liaison Librarians

Fuimaono Taala Tiresa Ierome

Phone: +6433692356
Te Puna Rakahau o Macmillan Brown | Macmillan Brown Library

Wed, Thurs & Friday 9:30am - 5:30pm                                          

Te Puna Pūkaha me te Pūtaiao l Engineering and Physical Sciences Library (EPS)

Caroline Syddall

Phone: +6433693883
Te Puna Rakahau o Macmillan Brown | Macmillan Brown Library

There is a very comprehensive bibliography of Psychology and Pasifika published by the School of Psychology, University of Auckland in 2017:


ʻO le toe ulutaia: A bibliography of Pasifika and psychology research/ J. FiaʾAliʾi, S. Manuela, J. Le Grice,  Groot & J. Hyde. This is also available as a print book.  

For some more recent resources written by Pasifika see the headings below:

Pacific Psychology

Alefaio-Tugia, S. (2022). Pacific-Indigenous Psychology: Galuola, a NIU-Wave of Psychological Practices. 

Practice

Ioane, J. (2022). Faifai mālie - balancing ourselves in our journey with Pasifika communities in person-centered and experiential psychotherapy and counselling. Person-Centered & Experiential Psychotherapies, 21(2), 129-143. https://doi.org/10.1080/14779757.2022.2067586

Ioane, J., & Tudor, K. (2023). Family-centered therapy: Implications of Pacific spirituality for person-centered theory and practice. Person-Centered & Experiential Psychotherapies, 22(1), 58-76. https://doi.org/10.1080/14779757.2022.2100812

Kingi-‘Ulu’ave. D., Faleafa, M., Brown, T., & Daniela-Wong, E. (2016).  Connecting culture and care: Clinical practice with Pasifika people. In W. W. Waitoki, J. Feather, N. R. Robertson, & J. J. Rucklidge (Eds). Professional practice of psychology in Aotearoa New Zealand. New Zealand Psychological Society. 

For more information on working with Pacific peoples see the working with Pacific peoples subject guide.

Pasifika and the Psychology Profession

Ioane, J. (2017). Pasifika and psychology - are we there yet? Psychology Aotearoa, 9(2), 68-71.  https://www.psychology.org.nz/journal-archive/Psychology-Aotearoa-November-2017-for-email.pdf

Pomare, P., Ioane, J., & Tudor, K. (2021). Racism in New Zealand psychology, or, would Western psychology be a good thing? In C. Newnes (Ed.), Racism in Psychology: Challenging theory, practice and institutions (pp. 110-130). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003119401

Pulotu-Endemann FK, Faleafa M. (2017). Developing a culturally competent workforce that meets the needs of Pacific people living in New Zealand. In Workforce development theory and practice in the mental health sector, (pp. 165-180). IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-5225-1874-7.ch008

Le Va. (n.d.). Strategies for Increasing Pasifika Psychologists in the Workforce.

Wellbeing and Mental Health
See the Pacific Health subject guide.

Sources on Pacific Values and World Views

Efi, Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Taisi. (2003). In search of meaning, nuance and metaphor in social policy. Social Policy Journal of New Zealand, 20, 49-63.
Includes the quotation "I am not an individual; I am in integral part of the cosmos. I share divinity with my ancestors, the land, the seas and the skies. I am not an individual, because I share a 'tofi' (an inheritance) with my family, my village and my nation. I belong to my family and my family belongs to me. I belong to my village and my village belongs to me. I belong to my nation and my nation belongs to me. This is the essence of my sense of belonging."

Ioane, J. (2017). Pasifika and psychology: Are we there yet? Psychology Aotearoa, 9(2).  
Includes a Samoan worldview and implications for interactions with Pasifika clients

Ministry of Education. (2013). Pasifika Education Plan 2013-2017
p.3 has a list of values

Ministry of Education. (2018). Tapasā: Cultural competency framework for teachers of Pacific learners
The values in this are the same as in the Pasifika Education Plan but the framework is potentially useful beyond education. The website includes other resources and links to further resources including Pacific cultural competency: A values strength-based approach which includes a workbook to "gain an appreciation of your own values and learn strategies to strengthen your cross-cultural competencies and build stronger working relationships with learners from diverse Pacific backgrounds.

Ministry for Pacific Peoples. (2022). Pacific wellbeing strategy: Weaving all-of-government: Progressing Lalanga Fou.  
p.18 lists and defines Pacific cultural values.

Ponton, V. (2018). Utilizing Pacific methodologies as inclusive practice. SAGE Open, 8(3). https://doi.org/10.1177/2158244018792962 
-includes a section on Pacific worldview

Su’a-Tavila, A. (2019). Contemporary Pacific values and beliefs. In J. Ravulo, T. Mafile’o, & D. B. Yeates (Eds.), Pacific social work: Navigating practice, policy and research. (pp. 11-21). Routledge.

Tuagalu, I. (2008). Heuristics of the Vā. AlterNative, 4(1), 107-126.

University of Canterbury. (2018). UC Pasifika Strategy 2019-2023 .
p.9 has a values framework Fausiga o le Faletele