Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

EndNote Guide: EndNote Problems

EndNote Files

Download Links

EndNote X8 for MAC OS X

EndNote X8 for Windows

The current version is EndNote X8. Once you have installed the download from this page you will get automatic prompts when updates are available. You will be asked for your UC login.

 

 

Additional Files

The Library provides some modified and additional Filters, Connection, and Styles files which are useful for this University.

Download:

Filters

Connections

Styles

 Note that any zipped files need to be 'unzipped' i.e. right-click and choose the extract command.

Problems

This page covers some of the more common technical problems encountered with EndNote. Additional support is available from the EndNote vendor's website. If these resources do not help, contact Library eServices by email or phone 364 2987 x 8603.

Help in using EndNote is provided by the Subject Librarians in each of the campus libraries.

For those interested in user forums, have a look at the EndNote forum - sometimes there is useful discussion.

No EndNote toolbar in Word

A common problem, although the cause has varied over the years.

If you are working on your own computer, there are two things to try: the first is to look at the Disabled Item page which is the most common cause of problems in Word 2007 or Word 2010. If this does not help, the EndNote support pages also provide help for this problem.

If you are using a student-workroom or library computer, then there are also two options - but you cannot use the suggestions on the EndNote support pages mentioned above. The first option is described on the Disabled Item page, the other (and more drastic) is to have your profile reset by one of the ICTS ServiceDesk staff or workroom supervisors.

Flickering screen problem - or EndNote does not start

These instructions apply only for a Windows PC connected to the campus network. Ensure Word is closed. Uninstall EndNote. Run the following script (single-click, choose Open or Run): \\canterbury.ac.nz\student\Apps\endnote\regdelendnote.vbs. (This link only works in Internet Explorer or via the Run box). If this script is not available (e.g. on a Staff Machine) there is also a copy at N:\Endnotevbsscript\regdelendnote.vbs. Reinstall EndNote. Open an EndNote Library and if that is OK, then start Word to check the EndNote toolbars have installed.

Format bibliography slow or freezing

Word can either format references individually as you insert them, or many at once when you choose "Format Bibliograpy". If the formatting process is slow, turn off instant formatting and the Cite While You Write (CWYW) functions and rely on manually running the Format Bibliography command when it suits. The initial delay in starting to format the Word document can sometimes be several minutes and, to all appearances, the process appears to have frozen.

To turn off Instant Formatting, see the Disable instant formatting pages. If you get an error message like "left or right delimiter must be unique and cannot be blank" then see theDelimiter error instructions.

To turn off the CWYW function, first turn off Instant Formatting then see the Disable cite while you write.

Cannot use connection files in the student workrooms

If you use Internet Enabler you should be able to connect to most databases directly from within EndNote - although this is seldom as effective as searching the database directly then importing into EndNote. However, some databases cannot be searched through EndNote when in the Student Workrooms, or using other computers similarly configured (e.g. within the Library). The two most prominent of these are PubMed and Web of Science. For these you must search the database separately and then import the results into EndNote.

"Member not found"

This message can appear if the Cite While You Write (CWYW) tools from a previous version of EndNote are in the Word startup folder. 

To fix this problem, close Word and browse to the Word startup folder. The default location of Startup depends on your version of Windows.

Windows Vista:

C:\Users[YOUR USER NAME]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Word\STARTUP

Windows XP/2000:

C:\Documents and Settings[YOUR USER NAME]\Application Data\Microsoft\Word\Startup

Note: If you cannot find the specified folder, your Windows preferences may be set to hide the folder. In Windows Explorer go to Tools / Folder Options / View tab and make sure that "Show hidden files and folders" is selected. Press Alt to view menus in Windows Vista.

Delete any EndNote files in this folder. Now when you use EndNote, you should not receive this error message.

_This information reprinted from Thomson Reuters Forums on 10/3/09:_http://forums.thomsonscientific.com/ts/board/message?board.id=en-general&message.id=196#M196

Troubleshooting for Mac

EndNote tools not showing in Word 2010

If you don't see EndNote Tool bar after installation, the simplest way get the tools to appear is to open EndNote, and go to the EndNote menu. Select "Customizer" from the EndNote menu. Check the box in front of the "Cite While You Write" option. Click next until the process is finished. Open a library. Then open Word and check the Tools menu for the EndNote submenu or click View and tick EndNote

If you are using other version of Word such as Word 2004 & 2008, please refer to EndNote: Working With Word Processors / CWYW from Thomson Reuters.

Time Out Error - 1712 when attempting use EndNote toolbar in Word

This problem is not caused by Word or EndNote, rather specifically OS X 10.8.2 update

Solution: EndNote X6.0.2 Update: An update for EndNote X6 has been released to address the issues associated with this bug in the OSX 10.8.2 operating system:

  1. If you have not already done so, install the X6.0.1 for Mac OS X Update. You can check this by going to the EndNote menu and selecting About EndNote.
  2. Download and unzip the EndNote X6.0.2 Update.
  3. Double-click on the "EndNote X6.0.2 Updater" file.
NOTE: If you do not see the EndNote tools in Word after updating, in EndNote click “EndNote X6” and choose “Customizer”. Ensure the Cite While You Write component is checked and press “Next” until the process has completed.

Citations not importing from Safari

Safari only seems to download citation files to the desktop; they then need to be click-and-dragged into Endnote.  Instructions here suggest a fix but I haven't been able to investigate yet - it might only be a partial fix.  If you can bring yourself to use Firefox, it works a lot more smoothly.

Citations not importing from Firefox

The first time you export citations from a database it asks you whether to open or save.  Choose "Open", then browse to find EndNote X7, and make sure to click "Do this every time" before clicking "Okay".

"There are no references selected in the frontmost EndNote library"

If you get this message while trying to insert references into a Word document:

  • You've probably saved your Endnote library as a "package".  Solution:  Open your Endnote library, save as new copy, but don't "save as package". This will create two files instead of just one 'package', but it solves the problem of adding references to Word.
  • Alternatively the version of your Word Endnote tools might not match the version of your Endnote application.  Follow the instructions here to fix this.  If you have the toolbar showing, you'll also need to close it and reopen it from the View > Toolbars menu.

Contact me for help

University of Canterbury Library
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140
364 2198 / ext 6198
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:General

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 369 4888 (ext 94888)
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube